The Watson Brown Scholarship

The Watson Brown Foundation is a non-profit organization that provides scholarships to qualified students in the state of Tennessee. The foundation was founded in 1983 by a group of citizens from the state. The goal of the foundation is to reward students from Tennessee with additional scholarship funds so they can further their education.

The foundation offers several different scholarship opportunities for students who attend accredited universities or colleges located in Tennessee. It is important to note that students must reside in the state of Tennessee as well as attend school in the state. If you are interested in applying for one of these scholarships, you will need to complete an application form and submit it with proof of your residency and enrollment in an accredited university or college within the state.

There are three different scholarships available through the Watson Brown Foundation:

The Watson Brown Scholarship: This is an annual, one-time $1,000 scholarship award that can be used toward educational expenses such as books, fees and tuition.

The Watson Brown Scholarship Renewal: This is an annual, renewable scholarship of $1,000, which can be used toward educational expenses such as books, fees and tuition.

The Watson Brown Scholarship Endowment: This is an endowed scholarship that provides up to $2,500 per year to a student who meets specific requirements

The Watson-Brown Foundation offers several scholarships for high school seniors. The Watson Brown Scholarship is the flagship award, and it’s given to students who are residents of Georgia or Tennessee. It’s available to students in either state who will be pursuing a 2-year or 4-year degree at an accredited college or university.

Unlike most scholarship awards, the Watson Brown Scholarship program looks at both academic performance and financial need when determining who will receive funds. As a result, the foundation can help a number of students meet their educational goals.

Students interested in applying for this scholarship must fill out an application form, write an essay and submit letters of recommendation along with their official transcripts. The application process is fairly standard, but there’s more to it than with some other scholarships.

The deadline is November 15th, so plan to apply well in advance if you’re interested in being considered for this award.

Each year, the Watson-Brown Foundation awards more than 50 merit scholarships to students who live in one of the 26 counties of middle Georgia where the Foundation holds its historic properties. The Foundation also operates a scholarship program for residents of Morgan County, GA. These programs are funded by an endowment created by the late Thomas Watson Brown and his wife, Mary Brown.

The Watson-Brown Scholarship Program encourages students to pursue their education beyond high school by providing two or four years of tuition to qualified students attending accredited colleges/universities in Georgia. Scholarships are awarded based on academic achievement, financial need, leadership qualities and service to community/school. Students must reside in one of the following counties: Baldwin, Bibb, Bleckley, Burke, Dodge, Dooly, Glascock, Hancock, Jasper, Johnson (GA), Jones (GA), Laurens (GA), Lincoln (GA), Macon (GA), Marion (SC), McDuffie (GA), Morgan (AL), Oglethorpe (GA), Putnam (GA), Richmond (GA), Screven (GA), Sumter (SC) Taliaferro, Upson(GA), Washington(GA) Wilkinson(GA).

The Thomas W. and Mary Brown Scholarship Program

The Watson Brown Foundation is pleased to announce the continuation of its Scholars Program for outstanding students at ten partnering institutions. The program will award nearly 100 scholarships over the next four years to rising juniors, seniors and graduate students at the partner institutions.

The Foundation has awarded over $10 million in scholarships since 1981. Most recently, the Foundation made a substantial grant to fund this new scholarship program.

Watson Brown Scholars are selected by their respective schools from among a group of applicants nominated by faculty. Students selected as Watson Brown Scholars receive a scholarship of up to $5,000 for the academic year. Selection criteria include academic achievement, leadership ability and character.

The Watson Brown Foundation offers Michael G. Smith Scholarships to encourage promising students to continue their education after high school. Each year, the Foundation awards $10,000 college scholarships to two (2) graduating high school seniors from nine (9) counties in Tennessee and Georgia. The scholarship award is $5,000 per academic year for a maximum of four years, or until a bachelor’s degree is earned.

Watson Brown Scholars must attend one of the following nine (9) colleges/universities:

University of the South, Sewanee

Furman University, Greenville, SC

Carson-Newman University, Jefferson City

King University, Bristol

Lee University, Cleveland

Lincoln Memorial University, Harrogate

Maryville College, Maryville

The Watson-Brown Foundation is now accepting applications for its 2018 college scholarships. The foundation will award two $30,000 scholarships and one $40,000 scholarship to selected students who will be entering their freshman year at a four-year college or university in the fall of 2018. Applicants must be residents of Georgia and must attend a Georgia high school.

In addition to the three scholarships, the foundation will also award up to ten $2,500 honors awards. Honors awardees receive $1,250 upon being named an awardee and $1,250 after completing their first semester of college with a 3.0 or higher GPA.

The application deadline is January 31, 2018. For more information about the Watson-Brown Foundation and its scholarship programs, please visit the Watson-Brown Foundation website.

The Watson-Brown Foundation, Inc. was founded in 1985 for the “historical, charitable and educational purposes of promoting and maintaining the history and heritage of the antebellum South.” The Foundation’s primary mission is to preserve, restore, and maintain historically significant properties. Its secondary mission is to be a grant-making institution in support of education throughout the state of Georgia.

In furtherance of its objectives, the Board of Trustees has established a scholarship program for students at six small colleges in Georgia and four colleges in Tennessee. Each college may nominate up to five students for these scholarships each year. The amount and number of scholarships awarded are determined by the Board based upon need and availability of funds.

All Watson-Brown Scholarships are merit-based, renewable awards made on the basis of a student’s academic record, financial need, community service, extracurricular activities, personal interview and recommendations.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker